Amazon Planning To Put Advertisement In Kindle Content

The word is out! Amazon has officially applied for a patent to  Incorporate Advertising in On-Demand Generated Kindle Content.

But what does this mean?
Are they planning to put ADs in books, magazines, blogs, or newspapers? Pick your choice! Which do you think is most appropriate or make more sense?

I would say, blogs, newspaper, and magazines. Now I may be wrong, but that’s my gut feeling.

I cannot see them putting Advertising in books…digital or not? That’s just too different from the norm.

I mean it would take a long time for Kindle digital books buyers to relate to this and it might even piss some people off! I don’t think Amazon would want to run that risk. At least not in the beginning.

But it does make a lot of sense for magazines, blogs, and newspaper. Readers are already used to seeing Ads in newspaper, blogs, and magazines. I have to admit it did look kind of weird not seeing those in the Kindle generated ones.

I mean, if you are going to deliver those kind of content, you might as well get it as close to reality as possible.

I knew that something was up when they rolled out the Kindle DX.  You see, Amazon is not stupid! They’ve been listening to the rumbling and  grumbling  of the publishers and realized that to really make Kindle the standard ebook reader, they are going to have to pull out all stops.

That mean fighting off would-be competitors and satisfying both customers and the publishers as well. Make it a win-win for all!

I did mention in one previous article that publishers were conspiring to find alternative ebook readers that would allow them to put Advertising in their content and let them in on a bigger slice of the pie.

I always knew, though that Amazon was not going to sit back and allow  competitors to come in and steal their market shares. They are going to fight to the death.

There is simply too much at steak here to just sit back and do nothing.

So, what does it mean for the customer?
Honestly, I don’t think customers will mind. As always this is just an added service…as long as it does not interfere with the content itself.

I am an early Kindle adopter and I don’t really care one way or another, and I believe others share the same sentiment.

Anyway, for me this was expected. I was wondering how long it would take to get there. But as we can see, things are already set in motion.

Now I have to keep my ears open to see how other ebook readers will respond.

Can things get more interesting? I don’t think so.

If you like this article, we would love to hear from you…and don’t forget to follow us on twitter for regular updates.

You may also be interested in:

One Response

  1. i would be furious if Amazon inserted advertising into any content that i paid for. if they want to support free content with advertising, i would support that 100%, but if i found an ad for fishing poles in the copy of old man and the sea that i paid for, i would be very unhappy indeed.

Leave a Reply

