Why it May Not Be The Right Time To Get the iPhone

The Price is Right but what’s the Catch?

I always wanted an iPhone, but was not willing to pay $400 for it. So when the price dropped to $199, I thought it was the perfect time to buy…my goal? To see if this much talked about device would live up to the hype. All those captivating features: touch-scroll-zoom-rotating screen, music, video, internet browsing, email access, navigation system, scrolling contact list, etc., do they really work? There was only one way to find out…get one. The timing was right and the price ($199) made sense…so for me it was time to buy.

I logged on to Apple.com , credit card in hand, ready to buy only to be redirected to an Apple retail store (AT&T Store). Apparently AT&T have some kind of agreement with Apple which gives them the right to be the sole distributor of the iPhone in the US…bomber! they have Monopolized the darn iPhone!

I mean there is no other mobile phone distributor in the country authorized to sell the iPhone…AT&T have completely decimated the competition. Can you believe it? I couldn’t. Yes, you may be able to get an iPhone (probably unlocked) at Ebay.com, but at what price?…and What does this mean for the customer? it meant they have very few choices. Whatever AT&T throws at them, they have to accept. I was furious, but still went to get one at a nearby retail outlet.

To get the phone, I had to agree to a two year contract, mandatory internet data plan, and optional SMS texting. The cost? – connection fees, prorated charges for days leading up to first billing cycle, plus other miscellaneous charges which I don’t even understand. I didn’t care, I just closed my eyes and got the phone… Within a week, I was slammed with a $200 plus bill…

Since I wasn’t expecting my monthly cost to be that high so fast, I made the decision to either keep the iphone and pay a high monthly bill, or return it, wait out the Monopoly, and get another at a later date. I chose the latter. I kept the iPhone for a month, tried out all the features then returned it. I have to admit, it is a really nice phone with some awesome features. I loved it. I have tried a few imitations including CECT 168 and it doesn’t even come close. Getting rid of the iPhone was really hard for me.

There is absolutely no doubt in my mind that this phone re-define mobile phones and is worth having at the right price.

At this point, I will wait a while and see what happens…I know I may be waiting for a while because AT&T is going to milk this cash cow for all it’s worth before the competition comes in…but I have time.

In the meantime, I will consider other options. Perhaps I will travel overseas and get one that is unlocked. Several other countries offer the iPhone with less restrictions. AT&T’s tentacles are too short to reach beyond the boundaries of US soil.

As of now, I have learned what I need to know about this phone firsthand. If future upgrades occur that’s worthy of my attention, I will get my hand on another. That said, If you decide to get one now, I would say, “go ahead.” Just be willing to pay the price.

Leave a Reply

