Update I: Amazon Kindle Vs Hanlin V3

Here’s a video that gives a little more detail about the Hanlin V3. Information about this device is pretty much hard to come by…you can’t even find anything on eBay or Amazon (at least not yet) and that’s saying a lot. If you want to buy the device, you have to order it directly from the overseas distributor…Personally, I am very skeptical about buying form overseas companies in this manner. I have to be able to track my money to an from the distributor so that if anything goes wrong, I can get a refund.

Anyway I tried to pull out what I deem the most important points from this video and add it to the comparison I had written a while back. Hopefully you can glean enough from it to help make an informed decision about whether or not to buy. If you buy…good luck… tell me how it goes. I will wait until it becomes available on Amazon or eBay. That said, I can only give you a third party review, since I don’t own the device yet.

So how did it fare in comparison to Kindle? Let’s see

Memory Card
Hanlin V3 comes with 1 GB memory card for content storage….Kindle comes with none. If you need a memory card you will have to buy it separately.

Mobipocket Support
Hanline V3 does not support Mobipocket content format so your content access is somewhat limited.. This I think further compounds the content conundrum which I mentioned in an earlier comparison…no specific mention of where to get content.

Kindle, on the other hand, support this format thereby giving you access to a tremendous amount of additional content outside of what Amazon offers.

Battery Power
Hanlin V3 displays approximately 9,000 page with full batter charge…that’s lot of pages. It’s left to be seen if it really does.

kindle must be recharged every other day when wireless is on… Turn the wireless off and you can read for a week or more before recharging. I don’t know what this means in terms of pages. My personal experience tells me that I need to recharge every 4 – 5 hours of reading which amounts to about (never counted)… pages depending on the font I am reading with and the Kind of content I am viewing…photos use more battery power…not to mention the fact that I usually have wireless on. The point is you can never be sure about these battery longevity claims…just read and keep your charger close by regardless of device.

Font Size
Hanlin V3 zooms text to make bigger, larger font is displayed in landscape mode which means you see less content while viewing larger font which account for more page turns.

Kindle offers six levels of font adjustment…no continuous variation of font adjustment here.

PDF Display
Hanlin displays PDF with some difficulty, cannot display every file especially the bigger ones.
Kindle’s PDF file display is still in the germination stage or as Amazon calls it, experimental phase. so not much difference here between the two.

MP3 Music
Both devices plays MP3 music. Hanlin V3 cannot access MP3 music while reading books which means no to background music.
Kindle, on the other hand, allows you to play MP3 music background music while reading.

As we find more information we will keep you updated…

3 Responses

  1. How are MP3 files delivered to the Kindle?

    • sorry I just read my comments, been really busy, I will write instructions for delivering MP3 files on the blog.

  2. the Kindle reminds me of something i saw in an old school Star Trek episode, which is a good selling point… and it’s so thin!

Leave a Reply

